Meeting Minutes

Technical Committee on Smart Grid Communications (TC-SGC)

Location: Hybrid event, Onsite: Smartgridcomm 2024 (Oslo) and Virtual via Zoom

Time: 2pm-3pm (CET), 17 Sep. 2024

List of Attendees:

Family Name	First Name	Organisation
Yang	Kun	University of Essex, UK
Lakshminarayana	Subhash	University of Warwick, UK
Turgut	Damla	University of Central Florida
Maharjan	Sabita	University of Oslo
Maleki	Sajjad	University of Warwick
Gonzalez Ramos	Jon	University of the Basque Country
Vildosola Arregui	Javier	University of the Basque Country
Aimutairi	Baudar	Saudi Electricity Company
Alshuwayman	Waleed	Saudi Electricity Company
Sahoo	Subham	Alborg University
Malandra	Fillipo	University of Buffalo, NY
Lampe	Lutz	University of British Columbia
Gomes	Caludio	Carnegie Mellon, Porto
Vieira Fernandes	Diana	Carnegie Mellon, Porto
Vukobratovic	Dejan	University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Sikora	Cyn	IEEE ComSoc industry outreach and technical activities director
Eirini Eleni	Tsiropoulou	University of New Mexico
Bayram	Safak	University of strathclyde
Konstantinou	Harrys	KAUST, Saudi Arabia
Mashima	Daisuke	Singapore University of Technology and Design
Papaioannou,	Thanasis	University of Athens, Greece
Reinhardt,	Andreas	TU Clausthal,
Vukobratovic,	Dejan	University of Novi Sad
Wietfeld	Christian	TU Dortmund University
Lehnert	Ralf	TU Dresden
Ghanem	Kinan	PNDC -part of Strathclyde university
Zhao	Yizhe	University of Electronic Science and
		Technology of China (UESTC)

Agenda

- Call to order
- Approval of the agenda
- Approval of previous meeting minutes
- Reports on nominations, conferences and journals
- Report on SIGs activities
- Status of webinars organization
- Awards and nominations committee announcements
- Election of the TC officers for the 2024-25 term
- Any other business
- Adjourn

The meeting started at 4pm CET (GMT+1) as chaired by the TC-SGC Chair Andrea Tonello.

During the meeting, the Chair presented a set of slides, covering the following aspects:

- (1) The chair introduced the **agenda**, which was agreed upon. Also, the minutes of the last meeting were agreed upon.
- (2) After introducing the TC's mission and the TC officers, the chair introduced the newly-elected officers for 2024-25 and reported the current status of the **membership**. There was a discussion on identifying the number of members who are actively participating in the TC meeting and its activities. Cyn (ComSoc) noted that members attending at least two of the five TC meetings are considered active members and have voting rights. The TC will be recertified every 3 years and the TC must provide the data on the number of registered members and active members at that time.
- (3) The chair summarized the **nominations** for **SGC Track chair positions** at the upcoming IEEE ICC and Globecom conferences, and in particular for Globecom 2025. Calls for Nominations are announced regularly via the TC-SGC mailing list.

The most recent nominations are:

IEEE Globecom 2024: Tech University, USA
IEEE ICC 2025 (Montreal, Canada)

UK

Muhammad Ismail, Tennessee

Kun Yang, University of Essex,

- Deadline 11 Oct. 2024
- TPC with experience in PLC can volunteer and contact Kun
- IEEE Globecom 2025 (Taipei) Safak Bayram, University of Strathclyde, UK
- (4) The **SmartGridComm 2024** (17 Sep. 20 Sep. 2024) was held in Oslo, Norway
 - Venue: Thon Hotel, Oslo, Norway
 - Organizers: Yan Zhang, and co-chairs G. Chicco, A. Tonello
 - TPC co-chairs: Sabita Maharjan, Damla Turgut, Celimuge Wu, and José Antonio Cortés Arrabal
 - Website: https://sgc2024.ieee-smartgridcomm.org/
 - Symposium papers submitted: Data to be obtained from the TPC chairs.
 - Workshop papers submitted: Data to be obtained from the TPC chairs.
 - 4 Keynote speakers: Data to be obtained from the TPC chairs.
 - Paid registrations: Data to be obtained from the TPC chairs.

(5) IEEE SmartGridComm 2025

• Location: Toronto, Canada,

• Date: September 2025

• Organizers: University of York

- Paper submission: Not applicable.
- Submission proposals for: Workshops, panels, tutorials
- (6) Special issues: the Chair encouraged the TC attendants to send the SI information organized by them to the TC so that cfp can be advertise on the TC website:
- (7) The chair, assisted by some **SIG** organizers, reported on the SIGs of the TC (see slides 12-15):

Current SIG chairs include the following:

- 1. SIG Communications and Networks to Enable the Smart Grid
 - Chair: Dejan Vukobratovic University of Novi Sad
 - Vice Chair: Gregor Verbic University of Sidney
- 2. SIG Cyber Security and Privacy for the Smart Grid
 - Chair: Lalitha Sankar Arizona State University
 - Vice Chair: György Dan KTH
 - Vice Chair: Jinsub Kim- Oregon State Univ.
- 3. SIG Energy Storage and Electric Vehicles
 - Chair: Hamid Nazaripouya UC Riverside
 - Vice chair: Phuong Nguyen TU Eindhoven
- 4. AI and Computational Intelligence
 - Chair: Yan Zhang University of Oslo
 - Vice-chair: Melike Erol-Kantarci University of Ottawa
 - Vice-chair: Damla Turgut University of Central Florida

There was a discussion on appointing new chairs and co chairs for some of the SIGs, if the current SIG chairs are no longer interested to lead.

- Dr. Fillipo Malandra SIG Communications and Networks to Enable the Smart Grid
- Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou SIG Cyber Security and Privacy for the Smart Grid
- Dr. Safak Bayram SIG Energy Storage and Electric Vehicles

The responsibility of the SIG chairs was clarified by Prof. Kun Yang.

- (8) **Webinars**: The objective is to engage more our community and offer some value. It was suggested that Webinars can be part of the SIG activities.
- (9) SIGs can send a brief **webinar** proposal to the TC Chair with the following information:
 - o Title/topic of the webinar
 - o Possible speaker/s
 - o Date (indication of time period)
 - (10) Election of new officers:
 - Election procedure explained in the P&Ps
 - Nomination and election committee
 - Andrea Tonello, Chris Develder, Vincent Wong, Angela Yingjun Zhang, Lutz

Lampe

- Eligible candidates must be voting members
- (11) Any other business: n/a
- (12) Next meeting: ICC 2025

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45pm CET.

(Minutes by Subhash Lakshminarayana, TC Secretary)