

IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Smart Grid Communications

Tuesday, January 12, 2021 - 16:00 – 17:30 (CET)

Virtual meeting





Agenda - TC SGC Meeting - 12/1/2021

- Call to order
- Approval of the agenda
- Approval of previous meeting minutes (@ICC 2020)
- Status of TC and SIGs
- Reports on nominations, conferences and journals
- TC awards
- Update of P&Ps
- Workshop on smart grid communications
- Any other business
- Adjourn





TC structure and status





Mission statement

- Support the IEEE Smart Grid Initiative
- Promote ComSoc's position in the development and promotion of smart grid related technologies
- Ensure that ComSoc members play a decisive technological role in smart grid communications, control, and computing

Website: http://sg.committees.comsoc.org/





Officers 2020-21

- **Chair:**
 - Andrea Tonello, University of Klagenfurt, Austria
- Vice Chairs:
 - Christian Wietfeld, TU Dortmund, Germany
 - Chris Develder, Ghent University, Belgium
 - Marco Levorato, UC Irvine, USA
- Secretary
 - Fang Yang, Tsinghua University, China
- Appointed officers
 - Member relations: Hongjian Sun, Durham University, UK
 - -Industry relations: Cedric Lavenu, EDF R&D, France





Member development

- > 232 as of Dec. 2019 registered members
- > 252 as of June 2020 registered members
- > 259 as of January 2021 registered (11.2% increase since Dec. 2019)
- To become a member, sign up the TCSGC mailing list at https://comsoc-listserv.ieee.org/cgi-bin/wa?SUBED1=asgcc&A=1
 - A member must be a Comsoc member
 - Non ComSoc members can contribute as collaborators
 - To become a **voting member**, attend at least two out of the last five TCSGC meetings
 - TCSGC meetings are held twice a year at IEEE ICC and IEEE SmartGridComm





SIGs status





Special interest groups: status

- > 1. SIG Communications and Networks to Enable the Smart Grid
 - Chair: Dejan Vukobratovic @ University of Novi Sad
 - Vice Chair: Gregor Verbic @ University of Sidney
- 2. SIG Cyber Security and Privacy for the Smart Grid
 - Chair: Lalitha Sankar, Arizona State University
 - Vice Chair: TBC
- 3. SIG Active Distribution Grids and Microgrids
- 4. SIG Smart Metering, Demand Response and Dynamic Pricing

- 5. SIG Big Data Management and Analytics
- ▶ 6. SIG ICT-Enabled Transactive Energy and Grid Economics
- 7. SIG Energy Storage and Electric Vehicles
 - Chair: Hamid Nazaripouya, UC Riverside
 - Vice chair: Phuong Nguyen @ TU Eindhoven
- 8. SIG Energy Internet and Energy System Integration
- 9. Al and Computational Intelligence
 - Chair: Yan Zhang, University of Oslo, Norway
 - Vice-chair: Melike Erol-Kantarci, University of Ottawa

In SmartGridComm, we have 4 symposia:

- Communications and Networking
- Cybersecurity and Privacy
- Control and Operations
- Grid Analytics and Computation



Proposal: reduce the SIGs to four and remain open to consider more should there be initiative





Nominations and representatives





Nominations and representatives

- IEEE Globecom 2020 SAC SGC: Yang Xiao, The University of Alabama, USA
 - 24 papers submitted
- ▶ IEEE SmartGridComm 2020: Lalitha Sankar, Arizona State University, USA
- ▶ IEEE ICC 2021 SAC SGC: György Dán, KTH
 - 18 submitted papers, 7 accepted
- IEEE Globecom 2021 SAC SGC: Ruilong Deng, Zhejiang University, China
- ▶ IEEE SmartGridComm 2021: Antonello Monti, Univ. of Aachen, Germany
 - Nominations made
- ▶ IEEE ICC 2022: Christian Wietfeld, TU Dortmund (TBC)

Call for Nominations announced regularly via the TCSGC mailing list

If you are interested in being nominated, please contact one of the officers





IEEE SmartGridComm 2020

Location: Tempe, Arizona, USA (originally) - Virtual conference

Dates: 11-13 November 2020

Co-chairs: Lalitha Sankar, Klara Nahrstedt

TPC Co-Chairs: Anuradha Annaswamy, Rakesh Bobba, György Dán, Oliver Kosut, Angela Zhang

Symposia: Cybersecurity and Privacy, Communications and Networking, Control and Operations, Grid

Analytics and Computation

Total number of registrations: 290

Papers: Total reviewed 162 - Accepted 93 - Rejected 67 - Withdrawn 14 - Acceptance ratio 57.8%

Countries: Submissions from 27 countries (Asia, Europe, Americas and Australia) - Accepted Papers: 19 countries





IEEE SmartGridComm 2021

- Location: **Aachen**, Germany
- Proposed dates: 18-21 October 2021
- **Venue:** Eurogress. It has hosted already several international conferences including large IEEE events such as IEEE PESC 2004
- Organizers:
 - Antonello Monti, RWTH Aachen Univ.
 - Ferdinanda Ponci, RWTH Aachen Univ.
 - Both with large experience in organizing IEEE events in the past
- In the process of finalizing organizing committee and preparation of CFP.









Journals and Conferences





Special issues

IEEE Transactions on Green Communications and Networking - Special Issue on Communications and Computing for Green Industrial IoT and Smart Grids

- Guest Editors: Melike Erol-Kantarci, George C. Alexandropoulos, Peter Han Joo Chong, Andrea Tonello, Yan Zhang
 - Submission deadline: 1 March 2021

MDPI Energies - Special Issue on Power Line Communication (PLC) Evolution: New Challenges and Innovative Solutions

- Guest Editors: Alberto Sendin, Andrea Tonello
 - Submission deadline: 31 March 2021

IEEE Network Magazine, special issue on AI and 6G Convergence: an Energy-efficiency Perspective

- Guest Editors: Y. Zhang, M. Erol-Kantarci, W. Sun, Y. Dai, J. Hoydis, M. C. Gursoy,
 - Submission deadline: 15 April 2021

Frontiers in Communications and Networks, has a section on Smart Grid Comms with specialty chief editor Editor Melike Erol- Kantarci





TCSGC Awards





TCSGC awards

Outstanding Service Award

- -The nominee must be a TCSGC member at the time of nomination
- -The nominee must have been a TCSGC member for a sustained period of time and have made significant contributions to TCSGC over the period

Technical Achievement Award

- -The nominee must be a TCSGC member at the time of nomination
- -The nominee must have done outstanding technical work in the field of the TCSGC
- -The nominee must have achieved a high degree of visibility for the work and for TCSGC in the community





Awards committee

- Committee members: C. Develder, M. Levorato, P. Popovski, A. Zhang
- Awards announced at SmartGridComm 2020

- Technical achievement award: prof. dr. Anna Scaglione

Outstanding service award: prof. dr. Lutz Lampe





P&Ps update





P&Ps update

We have to update the TC-SGC P&Ps to reflect the TEA-Council new provisions rendered available in August 2020:

- Nominations and elections sub-committee and related procedures
- Awards subcommittee and related procedures

- Action item responsible persons: Marco Levorato
- Deadline: end of February 2021





Workshop on Smart Grid Comms?





Idea to launch a Workshop on SGC

Already discussed this idea in previous meeting

When to start a first "experiment", in Summer 2021 or Spring 2022 ?





Any other business?





Next meeting

) ICC 2021, June 2021





Thank you!



