## Meeting Minutes Technical Committee on Smart Grid Communications (TC-SGC)

**Location**: IEEE SmartGridComm 2019, Beijing, China **Time**: 17:30-18:20, Tuesday, October 21 **Room:** Wenjin Hotel, Room 2 (Fu Rong Yue), 4<sup>th</sup> Floor

## List of Attendees:

Family Name	First Name	Organisation
Bobba	Rakesh	Oregon State University
Bumiller	Gerd	Hochschule Ruhr-West, Germany
Cao	Gnojin	Southeast University
Chen	Chen	Xian Jioatong University, China
Corinaldesi	Carlo	TU Vienna, Austria
Dán	György	KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Ding	Wenbo	Tsinghua University
Esiner	Ertem	ADSC
Galli	Stefano	IEEE
Gupta	Pragya	Technical University Munich, Germany
Kim	Hongseok	Sogang University, South Korea
Kolade	Oluwafemi	Wits University
Lakshminarayana	Subhash	University of Warwick, UK
Lampe	Lutz	University of British Columbia, Canada
Lehnert*	Ralf	Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
Liu	Jiaxin	Sichuan University
Liu	Siwng	Xiamen University
Ma	Kai	Yanshan University
Mashima	Daiskuke	Advanced Digital Sciences Center, Singapur
Mohsenian-Rad	Hamed	University of California, Riverside, USA
Reinhardt	Andreas	TU Clausthal, Germany
Ren	Huamin	The Arctic University of Norway
Righini	Davide	University of Klagenfurt
Sankar	Lautha	Arizona State University, USA
Schwefel*	Hans-Peter	Aalborg University, Denmark
Shi	Yi	Huawei Technologies
Song	Jian	Tsinghua University, China
Song	Linqi	City University of Hong-Kong
Sun	Yanan	University of British Columbia, Canada
Tang	Wenyuan	NC State University
Tian	Yuan	Beijing University of Post and Telecommunications
Tonello*	Andrea	Alpen-Adria University, Austria
Wietfeld	Christian	TU Dortmund University, Germany
Wong	Vincent	University of British Columbia, Canada
Xiao	Yang	The University of Alabama
Xu	Yunjian	Chinese University of Hong-Kong
Yang	Fang	Tsinghua University, China
Yoon	Sung-Guk	Soongsil University, South Korea
Zhang	Angela Yingjun	The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Zhu	Han	UT Austin, USA

\*Participation by web

## Agenda

- Welcome and Introduction
- Reports on Nominations, Conferences and Journals
- Reports on TC Awards
- Revision of Policies and Procedures
- Election of Officers
- Any Other Business

The meeting was called to order by TC-SGC Chair Yingjun Angela Zhang at 17:30 local time.

- (1) The meeting started with the **introduction of the mission of the TC** (**slide 3**). The Chair introduced the **officers** (slide 4) and reported on the status of **eight special interest groups** (SIG) (slides 5-6).
- (2) The Chair introduced the membership development, the **process to become a member** of the TC (slide 7).
- (3) The chair reported on **nominations** for **symposia chair positions** at upcoming conferences and other positions and **awards** within IEEE (Slides 8-10). Calls for Nominations are announced regularly via the TC-SGC mailing list.
- (4) The chair reported on special issues of journals organized by TC-SGC members (slide 12). The JSAC SI on Communications and Data Analytics in Smart Grid will be published in 1<sup>st</sup> quarter 2020. The chair reported on the outcome of nominations for recent conference tracks (ICC, Globecom), see slides 13/14.
- (5) The chair reported on the **selection process** for the TCSGC **Outstanding Service and Technical Achievement Award** (slides 15-20). The outcome will be announced on the conference dinner on Tuesday, October 22, 2019.
- (6) The chair introduced the revised ComSoc **Policies and Procedures** (P&P) document, which have been approved on ComSoc level by the Board of Govenors (see slides 21-24). The P&Ps of the TC shall be aligned corresponding to the ComSoc P&Ps:
  - a. One main change is related to the **definition of membership** within a TC: "members" are ComSoc members only, while contributors to the TC from other IEEE areas are called "collaborators". Being an interdisciplinary area, the Smart Grid Communications community is particularly affected by this change. Although the chair advocated another solution, the board decided otherwise. Yet the current solution is a compromise, as the members and collaborators can contribute to all internal activities expect the voting of officers. The collaborators can for example become appointed officers.
  - b. The appointment of the awards committee will follow new, stricter rules, as well as

the reporting on the selection process.

- c. The election of officers has been also revised.
- (7) Election of officers: the votes for the on-going elections for the next term shall be submitted by October 25 (see corresponding email of the chair and slides 25-27).
- (8) Upcoming meetings (slide 28): The **next meeting** is will take place at the **ICC 2020 in Dublin, Ireland, in June 2020..**

## The meeting was adjourned at 18:20 local time.

(Minutes by Christian Wietfeld, TC Secretary)